Naval Group is a French-law Public Limited Company; as at 31 December, 2019 62.25% of its capital was held by the French State, 35% by Thales, 1.88% by current and former members of staff and 0.86% by the company itself.

Naval Group is governed by the provisions of the French Commercial Code pertaining to Public Limited Companies, of the order of August 20, 2014 and of the French Act of 26 July 1983 relating to the democratization of public-sector companies as regards the rules governing the membership and working methods of its Board of Directors.

The company governance designates the system formed by the set of rules, behaviours and institutions which determine how the company is managed, administered and controlled. The Naval Group governance is organized around an Executive Committee made up of 10 members including the Chairman and CEO.


Presided over by the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, the Executive Committee sets the group’s objectives and rules on all matters that have a major impact on the group’s strategy, its functioning and its commercial and operational activities. It meets twice a month. It is made up of the following members:

  • Pierre Éric Pommellet, Chairman and CEO;
  • Frank Le Rebeller, Senior Executive Vice President Finance, Legal, Purchasing and Real Estate;
  • Alain Guillou, Senior Executive Vice President, Development;
  • Jean-Yves Battesti, General Secretary;
  • Vincent Martinot-Lagarde,  Executive Vice President, Services;
  • Olivier de la Bourdonnaye, Executive Vice President, Programs;
  • Laurent Espinasse, Executive Vice President, Industry;
  • Jean-Michel Billig, Executive Vice President, Program Australia;
  • Caroline Chanavas, Executive Vice President, Human Resources.
  • Guillaume Rochard, Executive Vice President, Strategy, Partnerships and M&As


The General Management Committee considers all the major strategic, economic, financial or technological policies relating to the company’s activity. It underwrites the company’s social interests and that of its main stakeholders: shareholders, staff members and clients. It is made up of eighteen members. An administrator is appointed by decree as a representative of the Government. Eleven administrators are appointed by the Shareholders’ General Meeting, of which five are designated by the Government. Six administrators are elected to represent the workforce. Since March 2020, Naval Group’s General Management Committee is made up of:

  • Chairman: Mr Pierre-Éric Pommellet.
  • Administrator appointed by decree as a representative of the Government: Mr Vincent Le Biez.
  • Administrators appointed by the Shareholders’ General Meeting: Mr Pierre-Eric Pommelet, Mr Patrice Caine, Ms Nathalie Ravilly, Mr Pascal Bouchiat, the French State represented by Mr Vincent le Biez, Mr Bernard Rétat, Mr Jacques Hardelay, Ms Valérie Champagne, Mr François Geleznikoff, Ms Gwenaëlle de la Raudiere, Ms Geneviève Mouillerat, Ms Eveline Spina, Mr Yvon Velly, Mr Tony Lecorps, Mr Laurent Chagnas, Ms Béatrice Unia, Mr Didier Chavrier, Mr Olivier Menard.
  • Administrators elected as representatives of the workforce: Mr Laurent Chagnas, Mr Didier Chavrier, Mr Tony Lecorps, Mr Olivier Ménard, Ms Béatrice Unia and Mr Yvon Velly.
  • Censor : Mr Gabriel Cumenge.